About Us

FATF Presidency


Official photo

Vladimir Nechaev (Russian Federation)
FATF President 2013-2014

FATF President

The FATF President is a senior official appointed by the FATF Plenary from among its members for a term of one year.  The term of the President begins on 1 July and ends on 30 June of the following year.  The President convenes and chairs the meetings of the FATF Plenary and the Steering Group, and he/she oversees the FATF Secretariat.

In July 2013, Mr. Vladimir Nechaev of the Russian Federation became the President of FATF, he succeeded Mr. Bjørn Skogstad Aamo of Norway.

Mr. Nechaev is currently Advisor to the International Co-operation Department for the Government Executive Office of the Russian Federation.

He was assistant to the First Deputy Prime Minister of Russia from 2009 to 2012. Mr. Nechaev was the head of the International Co-operation Department for Rosfinmonitoring (the Russian FIU) from 2002, and before that he served in the Russian Tax Police.

Until May 2013, Mr. Nechaev was Chairman of MONEYVAL, prior to which he was head of the Russian delegation to MONEYVAL from 2003 onwards. He has been member of the Russian delegation to FATF since 2003.

Mr. Nechaev graduated from the Moscow Power Engineering Institute in automatics and computer engineering, and he later finished advanced training in economy, taxation and management at “ECOMMAC” training centre in Moscow. He was born in 1948. 

Selected speeches: 

FATF Vice-President

Roger Wilkins AO (Australia)
FATF Vice-President 2013-2014

The FATF Vice-President, who is also the FATF President-designate, is appointed by the Plenary from among its members for a term of one year preceding his/her presidential term.  The Vice-President assists the President in carrying out his/her responsibilities and stands in for the President when necessary.

Mr. Roger Wilkins AO from Australia assumed the position of Vice-President of FATF in July 2013.

Mr. Wilkins is Secretary of the Attorney-General’s Department, a position he has held since September 2008.

Prior to his appointment as Secretary of the department, he was Head of Government and Public Sector Group Australia and New Zealand with Citi and was Citi’s global public sector leader on climate change from 2006–2008.

From 1992–2006, Mr. Wilkins was the Director-General of the Cabinet Office in New South Wales where he played a leading role in areas of reform in administration and law, corporatisation and microeconomic reform. Mr. Wilkins was also the Director-General of the Ministry of Arts in New South Wales from 2001 to 2006.

Mr. Wilkins has chaired a number of national taskforces and committees dealing with public sector reform, including the Council of Australian Government Committee on Regulatory Reform, the National Health Taskforce on Mental Health and the National Emissions Trading Taskforce.

He is a member of the Board of the Forum of Federations and advises different federal systems especially on fiscal issues.

He was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2007 for service to public administration.