Committee of Experts on the Evaluation of Anti-Money Laundering Measures (MONEYVAL)

‌While 19 Council of Europe member states are evaluated by the FATF, 27 Council of Europe member states are members of ‌‌MONEYVAL. Two FATF members are designated by the FATF President to be members of MONEYVAL for a two-year period. As of 2022, these are Germany and the United Kingdom. The following countries or jurisdictions are likewise members of MONEYVAL: Israel; the Holy See (including the Vatican City State); the United Kingdom Crown Dependencies of Guernsey, Jersey and the Isle of Man; and the British Overseas Territory of Gibraltar. 

States and territories’ representatives in MONEYVAL are senior officials and experts with responsibility for regulation and supervision of financial institutions; senior officials in law enforcement and financial intelligence units; or senior legal experts from ministries of justice and/or judicial and prosecutorial bodies.

For more information, please see the MONEYVAL website at

Countries and jurisdictions subject to evaluation by MONEYVAL

  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Estonia
  • Georgia
  • The Holy See (including the Vatican City State)
  • Hungary
  • Israel
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Malta
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • North Macedonia
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • Serbia
  • Slovak Republic
  • Slovenia
  • The UK Crown Dependencies of Guernsey
  • The UK Crown Dependencies of Jersey
  • The UK Crown Dependencies of the Isle of Man
  • The British Overseas Territory of Gibraltar
  • Ukraine


Several bodies, countries and organisations are granted observer status with MONEYVAL. Observers are entitled to send their representatives to MONEYVAL meetings but do not have voting rights.

  • The Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe, the  Council of Europe Development Bank, the European Committee on Crime Problems, and the  Conference of the Parties of the Convention on Laundering, Search, Seizure and Confiscation of the Proceeds from Crime and on the Financing of Terrorism (CETS 198);
  • The European Commission and the Secretariat General of the Council of the European Union;
  • Countries with observer status of the Council of Europe (i.e. Canada, Japan, Mexico, United States of America);
  • Secretariat of the Financial Action Task Force (FATF);
  • ICPO-Interpol;
  • Commonwealth Secretariat;
  • International Monetary Fund (IMF);
  • United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC);
  • United Nations Counter-Terrorism Committee (CTC);
  • United Nations Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice Division (CCPCJ);
  • World Bank;
  • European Bank of Reconstruction and Development (EBRD);
  • Group of International Finance Centre Supervisors (GIFCS) (previously named Offshore Group of Banking Supervisors (OGBS);
  • Organisation for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE);
  • Egmont Group of Financial Intelligence Units;
  • Eurasian Group on Combating Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing (EAG);
  • Any other FATF style regional body (FSRB) which becomes an associate member of the FATF, on the basis of reciprocity; 
  • Any member of the FATF not represented in MONEYVAL as one of the two delegations officially appointed by the FATF.